City Council Committee :
(current agenda) (current minutes) (meeting dates)

Finance Committee :

Responsible for financial matters of the city including budget preparation, major purchases, etc.
Committee members: Charles Barfield, Don Canada, Chuck Short, David McManus
(current agenda) (current minutes)

Water/Light/Street Committee:

Plans all infrastructure projects relating to matters of the water, light and street departments.
Committee members: Charles Barfield, Mike Hall, John Taylor, David McManus
(current agenda) (current minutes)

Industrial Committee:

Works closely with Economic Developer to attract new businesses and industry to Metropolis/Massac County. Plans projects relating to Industrial Park infrastructure.
Committee members: David McManus, Charles Barfield, Mike Hall, Don Canada
(current agenda) (current minutes)

Parks & Recreation Committee:

Works with Parks & Recreation Director to develop plan for recreational activities in Metropolis. Ensures that parks are kept in a safe and enjoyable manner for residents.
Committee members: John Taylor, Mike Hall, David McManus, Charles Barfield
(current agenda) (current minutes)

Police and Fire

Works with Police and Fire Departments regarding equipment purchases, construction projects, hiring of dispatchers and paid on-call firefighters. The hiring of Police Officers, Firefighters as well as promotions of full-time emergency personnel are the responsibility of the Board of Fire & Police Commissioners, a Board independent of the City Council.
Committee members: Chuck Short, Charles Barfield, Buford McGuire, John Taylor
(current agenda) (current minutes)

Claims Committee:

Reviews claims for property damage and personal injury possibly arising from city error. Determines liability and makes recommendation to full council for payment or denial.
Committee members: Buford McGuire, Chuck Short, Charles Barfield, Don Canada
(current agenda) (current minutes)

Environmental Committee:

Reviews matters relating to environmental issues.
Committee members: Mike Hall, Charles Barfield, Don Canada, Buford McGuire
(current agenda) (current minutes)

Condemned Buildings Committee:

Works on condemnation of substandard structures.
Committee members: Charles Barfield, John Taylor, Chuck Short, Buford McGuire
(current agenda) (current minutes)

Ordinance Committee:

Responsible for review of Ordinances prior to adoption by the City Council.
Committee members: Chuck Short, Charles Barfield, David McManus, Don Canada
(current agenda) (current minutes)

Insurance Committee:

Committee members: Charles Barfield, David McManus, David Bowman, Chris Carter, Julie Wind, Jerry Mizell, Chad Parker, JK Thomas, Carrie Rutherford, *Wilbur Lindsey